Casa Staff Interview

Meet Celeste Leichliter,  Volunteer and HR Coordinator

 

Q: How long have you been working with Casa and what was your starting position?

A: 5 years. I started out as the Volunteer Coordinator.  I am still currently the Volunteer Coordinator, however now I also help in Human Resources.

Q:  How did you first learn about Casa de Amparo?

A: A friend of mine in college did her internship at Casa.

Q: What is your role at Casa?

A: I act as a liaison to the volunteers and staff. In addition, I help to welcome and orient new staff & volunteers. My title is Volunteer and HR Coordinator.

Q:  What drew you to Casa originally? And how has Casa changed since?

A: I believe in Casa’s mission. I also like the family work environment.  Even though we have grown a lot in the past years, we still are able to maintain this family-like atmosphere among the staff and kids.  

Q: What has been your favorite project?

A: Taking on facilitating and improving the New Hire Orientation.

Q: What have you gained from working at Casa?

A:  I have learned how to work with different types of people and personalities. I have gained leadership skills. In addition, I am and continue to be inspired by the work that we do here, especially those who work directly with our youth on a regular basis. It is really neat to see our staff in action, building rapport with the kids, and counseling them during difficult times. At Casa, I am surrounded by many talented & like-minded individuals. I am an observer and I learn from watching my coworkers and volunteers manage different situations. 

Q: What is on your wish list for the next 5 years with Casa?

A: Continue to grow within the agency. I am looking forward to the new Teen Wellness Center and seeing what new opportunities that will bring.  

Q: What is your favorite part about working for Casa?

A: Working with an amazing group of people. Also, I love hearing the Casa Kids success stories.

Q: What is your proudest moment at Casa?

A: I feel proud when volunteers and staff succeed.

Q: How would you describe your day job to a child?

A: Even though I don’t work directly with the youth on a regular basis, I still play a part in helping our children.  So I would tell a child that I help other children in need.   

Q:  What is your biggest achievement to date-personal and professional?

Mine falls into both areas.  It’s not an easy task working full time and being a parent of 2 small children. So I am proud that I am able to do both and feel like I do it pretty well.

Q: What does a typical day look like for you and what are you currently working on?

A: No day is the same.  My typical week includes conducting interviews with potential staff & volunteers, doing the paperwork that comes with the onboarding process, leading volunteers in a project. I am currently wrapping up all of the recruitment for the year before I am off to be one of Santa’s elves at the Holiday Donation Center for the rest of the month of December. 

Q: What three words would you use to describe your role?

A: Listen, Lead, Adapt

Q: If you could switch jobs with anyone, who would it be and why?

A: I would be one of the New Directions Advocates because I think it would be very rewarding to work with this population.  Navigating life as an adult is hard enough even with having a strong support system.  I would like to help youth to develop their support systems within the community and assist them on their path to adulthood.

Q: If you could change one thing about working here, what would it be?

A: I would love to be able to spend more time with our youth, but it is difficult to find the time since my role is in administration.

Q: What do you like most about your job?

A: I’ll choose 2 favorite things: I like being able to work with people from different departments.  In addition, I like working with volunteers.  They inspire me on a regular basis. 

Q: What advice would you give to a new casa team member?

A: Ask a lot of questions.  Be proactive and prioritize your work. Remember your “why.”

Q: What is your favorite movie or TV show?

A: I really like the movie, My Girl. Right now I am watching the show, Riverdale, but I wouldn’t say that I have a favorite show.

Q: What do you do for fun?

A: I like listening to live music and being outside on hikes or walks. I also enjoy doing crafts.


Join Our E-mail List


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Casa de Amparo, 325 Buena Creek Rd., San Marcos, CA, 92069, http://www.casadeamparo.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact